Skip to Navigation Skip to Content
Decorative woodsy background

Site Discussions

Michael Gow
May 23, 2014
You are so right.  As a teacher myself, I want the kids to feel the things they learn about.  It is the natural way to learn.

From "Touch" »

Penelope Harris
May 21, 2014
I suppose growing up on a farm, like I did, everything was tactile. I wasn’t just reading about cows, chickens, cow manure, new born calves and chicks, woods, frogs, mud, horse back riding, prickly hay bales and I could…

From "Touch" »

Jim Shaber
May 21, 2014
At our recycling center there are hundreds of bees feeding in the aluminum can and glass dumpsters.  It would seem possible to track some of these to their home hive.  I’ve wondered if the honey derived from…

From "Bee Lining: The Oldtimers' Way to Find Wild Beehives" »

Jeanie SImon
May 11, 2014
My birdhouse is filled with small dead twigs about 4” to 6” long.  Does anyone know who would have put them in?  We see swallows around the area,  these birdhouses are specific for blue birds.

From "Which Bird Made That Nest?" »

Janis Gillespie
May 10, 2014
Hale makes the finest wood bookcases in the country.  They are beautiful and timeless.

From "Bookcase Manufacturer Writes a New Chapter" »

Peter
May 10, 2014
Can venison be infected with Lyme Disease and then be transmitted to humans who ingest it? Can this occur with any ground-grazing species such as grouse, rabbit, turkey, that are also eaten by people? And if not, why not?

From "Tale of the Tick: How Lyme Disease is Expanding Northward" »

Deborah Turgeon
May 09, 2014
I found an opossum in my Have-A-Hart trap this morning in which I usually catch squirrels. I never expected to see an opossum in it!  Looks like there might have been some frostbite damage to the tail. I let…

From "Opossums Find Cold Comfort in New England’s Winters" »

Stephen Verchinski
May 04, 2014