Skip to Navigation Skip to Content
Decorative woodsy background

Site Discussions

Theresa Wellman
Sep 11, 2014
Enjoyed the article. When I was a broke college student, wild-asters were the flower I used for my transcendental meditation initiation. I was surprised to notice Massachusetts and southern Vermont being designated as other than New England until I saw…

From "Late Bloomers – Asters Arrive at Summer’s End" »

Cornelis
Sep 07, 2014
What about if the leaning tree is likely hollow? We want to drop it against the lean. The tree is a 20 meter tall lombardia poplar, the amount of cutting front and back is obviously more critical. We do have a …

From "Felling Trees Against the Lean" »

Charlie Schwarz
Sep 06, 2014
As a forester who’s been managing woodland for well over 40 years I’ve read the discussion and have heard it before—many times. There are at several consultants operating in my area that I would not consider allowing in…

From "Should Vermont Require Licenses For Foresters?" »

Richard G Carbonetti
Sep 05, 2014
Dave, I will first divulge I am a supporter of licensing, a practicing consultant and that I am licensed in Maine and New Hampshire. Further I have seen “foresters” or those purporting to be foresters take serious advantage of landowners. …

From "Should Vermont Require Licenses For Foresters?" »

Bobo
Sep 03, 2014
Susan, I have a darling (yes, he is a darling) porcupine that was orphaned, and we intended to release him, then got very attached to him.  Yes, porcupines will snip off branches that are in their way, and during…

From "The Porcupine: Nature’s Pincushion" »

Carol Denardo
Sep 02, 2014
Our dairy farm has been run by my family for nearly 100 years. Most of that time, the land was open to hunters. However, some hunters have no respect for our property. They cut fences, shot at electric fence boxes, drove…

From "Debunking Misinformation About Vermont's Current Use Program" »

Scott
Sep 01, 2014