Recent Discussions

• What Do Tree Roots Do in Winter?

March 11th 2010
    All parts of a tree grow relatively slowly, so no, if you trim a tree’s root system, the roots you cut will not grow back in two weeks. I’m not sure i understand the whole… Read More »

• Predicting Fishless Lakes

March 11th 2010
    The trees may hang on for a little while, but they will eventually die (check out all the dead tree stems in a beaver flowage for a real-world example.) Read More »

• Clearing the Air: Outdoor Wood Boilers Face Regulation

March 7th 2010
    Great article!  Gasification wood boilers are often left out of discussions about OWBs and wood burning regulations. I have been using a Tarm gasification wood boiler for the last 4 years and constructed my own… Read More »

• Predicting Fishless Lakes

March 6th 2010
    Question: I want to construct a farm pond and will have to remove some trees. If I left some of the larger trees, 1ft - 3ft in diameter, mainly oaks and maples in the pond… Read More »

• What Do Tree Roots Do in Winter?

March 6th 2010
    Can you give me any info on tree root growth in warmer climates.  My mother had a problem with her sewer line and a plumbing contractor came out and charged her to clear the line. … Read More »

• Is Feeding for the Birds?

March 3rd 2010
    I’ve been feeding the birds (mostly Eurasian collared doves) for about a year now. Yesterday my neighbor came over and said the birds are “pooping” all over her porch and steps. Of course, they do… Read More »

• The Haitian Landscape

March 1st 2010
    I don’t know of any references off the top of my head, Derek, but i’ve sent a few requests out to others who might be able to help. I’ll update this post if i learn… Read More »

• How Do You Know When To Tap Your Trees?

March 1st 2010